Deleting Channels

LAST EDIT Oct 08 2021

Deleting a Channel

Copied!

You can delete a Channel using the delete method. This marks the channel as deleted and hides all the messages.

If you recreate this channel, it will show up empty. Recovering old messages is not supported. Use the deactivate method if you want a reversible change

Truncating a Channel

Copied!

Messages from a channel can be truncated. This will remove all of the messages but not affects the channel data or members.

This action can be performed client-side or server-side.

Deleting Many Channels - Coming Soon

Copied!

You can delete up to 100 channels and optionally all of their messages using this method. This can be a large amount of data to delete, so this endpoint processes asynchronously, meaning responses contain a task ID which can be polled using a task endpoint to check status of the deletions. Channels will be soft-deleted immediately so that channels no longer return from queries, but permanently deleting the channel and deleting messages takes longer to process.

By default, messages are soft deleted, which means they are removed from client but are still available via server-side export functions. You can also hard delete messages, which deletes them from everywhere, by setting "hard_delete": true in the request. Messages that have been soft or hard deleted cannot be recovered.

This will be released in Q4 2021 and will initially be available server-side only, although client-side support will be added later.