Truncate Channel

LAST EDIT Aug 10 2022

Messages from a channel can be truncated. This will remove all of the messages but not affect the channel data or channel members. If you want to delete both channel and message data then use the Delete Channel method instead.

Truncate channel can be performed client-side or server-side. To use client-side, the user must have the TruncateChannel permission.

On server-side calls, user_id field can be used to identify channel truncator.

The default behaviour is to hide messages when channel is truncated. To permanently delete messages, set the hard_delete option to true. The following fields can be used to truncate a channel:

Type

Description

Optional

truncated_at

Date

To truncate channel up to given time.

user_id

string

User who truncates the channel (server-side call only)

message

object

A system message to be added via truncation.

skip_push

bool

Don't send a push notification for system message.

hard_delete

bool

True if truncation should delete messages instead of hiding