Confused about "Truncate Channel"?
Let us know how we can improve our documentation:
Messages from a channel can be truncated. This will remove all of the messages but not affect the channel data or channel members. If you want to delete both channel and message data then use the Delete Channel method instead.
Truncate channel can be performed client-side or server-side. To use client-side, the user must have the TruncateChannel permission.
On server-side calls,
user_id field can be used to identify channel truncator.
The default behaviour is to hide messages when channel is truncated. To permanently delete messages, set the
hard_delete option to
true. The following fields can be used to truncate a channel:
To truncate channel up to given time.
User who truncates the channel (server-side call only)
A system message to be added via truncation.
Don't send a push notification for system message.
True if truncation should delete messages instead of hiding