Muting or Hiding Channels

LAST EDIT Oct 22 2021

Muting Channels

Copied!

Messages added to a channel will not trigger push notifications, nor change the unread count for the users that muted it. By default, mutes stay in place indefinitely until the user removes it; however, you can optionally set an expiration time. The list of muted channels and their expiration time is returned when the user connects.

Messages added to muted channels do not increase the unread messages count.

Query Muted Channels

Copied!

Muted channels can be filtered or excluded by using the muted in your query channels filter.

Remove a Channel Mute

Copied!

Whenever you need to unmute, you are able to.

Hiding a Channel

Copied!

Hiding a channel will remove it from query channel requests for that user until a new message is added. Please keep in mind that hiding a channel is only available to members of that channel.

Optionally you can also clear the entire message history of that channel for the user. This way, when a new message is received, it will be the only one present in the channel.

You can still retrieve the list of hidden channels using the { "hidden" : true } query parameter.