# Hiding Channels

Hiding a channel removes it from query channel requests for that user until a new message is added. Only channel members can hide a channel.

Hidden channels may still have unread messages. Consider [marking the channel as read](https://getstream.io/chat/docs/javascript/unread/) before hiding it.

You can optionally clear the message history for that user when hiding. When a new message is received, it will be the only message visible to that user.

## Hide a Channel

```js label="JavaScript"
// hides the channel until a new message is added there
await channel.hide();

// hides the channel until a new message is added there. This also clears the history for the user
await channel.hide(null, true);

// shows a previously hidden channel
await channel.show();
```

<Admonition type="info">

You can still retrieve the list of hidden channels using the `{ "hidden" : true }` query parameter.

</Admonition>


---

This page was last updated at 2026-08-11T17:19:20.781Z.

For the most recent version of this documentation, visit [https://getstream.io/chat/docs/javascript/hiding-channels/](https://getstream.io/chat/docs/javascript/hiding-channels/).